Free AI API Keys & Official Free Tiers by Developer
Official free API tiers and one-time trial credits offered directly by LLM model developers (Google, Mistral, Anthropic and others) — entered by hand from each developer's own documentation, with a source link and a check date on every entry. Nothing here has been tested with a real API call, and third-party gateways or resellers (OpenRouter, Together, etc.) are out of scope for this page.
Anthropic — Claude API new-user credits
Confirmed from official docs (not tested by a real API call) One-time trial credits
Anthropic's pricing FAQ answers "Are there free tiers or trials?" with a small amount of free credits for new users to test the API.
- "New users receive a small amount of free credits to test the API." The amount is not stated. (Claude API pricing — FAQ: Are there free tiers or trials?)
- Extended trials for enterprise evaluation are available by contacting Anthropic sales. (Claude API pricing — FAQ: Are there free tiers or trials?)
Sign-up requirements: Phone number: Not stated in official docs · Credit card: Not stated in official docs · Identity verification: Not stated in official docs
Checked 2026-09-23.
Sources
-
Claude API pricing — FAQ: Are there free tiers or trials?
Anthropic, Claude API pricing documentation. Quoted in part.
Google — Gemini API free tier (Google AI Studio)
Confirmed from official docs (not tested by a real API call) Ongoing free tier
The Gemini API has a Free tier that offers free input and output tokens on a subset of models, with limited access to certain models and rate limits that are not guaranteed.
- Free tier includes "Free input & output tokens" and "Limited access to certain models". (Gemini Developer API pricing)
- Models listed as "Free of charge" for both input and output on the free tier include gemini-3.8-flash, gemini-3.7-flash, gemini-3.6-flash, gemini-3.5-flash, gemini-3.5-flash-lite, gemini-3.1-flash-lite, gemini-3-flash-preview, gemini-2.5-pro, gemini-2.5-flash, gemini-2.5-flash-lite, Gemma 4 and gemini-embedding-2, plus several TTS, Live and transcription models. (Gemini Developer API pricing)
- Some models are "Not available" on the free tier, including Gemini 3.1 Pro, gemini-3.1-pro-preview-customtools and the Gemini Omni Flash and image models. (Gemini Developer API pricing)
- On the free tier, content is "used to improve our products". (Gemini Developer API pricing)
- The Free usage tier applies to an "Active project or free trial"; paid tiers require setting up billing. (Gemini API rate limits)
- Per-model free-tier rate limits are not listed on the page: "View your active rate limits in AI Studio". "Specified rate limits are not guaranteed and actual capacity may vary." (Gemini API rate limits)
Sign-up requirements: Phone number: Not stated in official docs · Credit card: Not stated in official docs · Identity verification: Not stated in official docs
Checked 2026-09-23.
Sources
-
Gemini Developer API pricing — page last updated 2026-09-23 — CC BY 4.0
Google, "Gemini Developer API pricing", ai.google.dev, CC BY 4.0. Summarized and quoted in part; model list shortened. -
Gemini API rate limits — page last updated 2026-09-02 — CC BY 4.0
Google, "Rate limits", ai.google.dev, CC BY 4.0. Summarized and quoted in part.
Mistral — Mistral Studio Free mode
Confirmed from official docs (not tested by a real API call) Ongoing free tier
Mistral Studio enables API access in Free mode by default, with no credit card required; usage and rate limits apply.
- "Free mode: API access is enabled by default with no credit card required. Usage and rate limits apply." (Activate Studio and generate an API key (Mistral docs source))
- Rate limits are set per Workspace (requests per second, tokens per minute, tokens per month); your current limits are shown in the Admin Panel under API > Limits. (Manage Workspace usage and limits (Mistral docs source))
Sign-up requirements: Phone number: Not stated in official docs · Credit card: Not required · Identity verification: Not stated in official docs
Checked 2026-09-23.
Sources
-
Activate Studio and generate an API key (Mistral docs source) — page last updated 2026-09-22 — Apache-2.0
Mistral AI, platform-docs-public (Apache-2.0). Quoted in part. -
Manage Workspace usage and limits (Mistral docs source) — page last updated 2026-09-22 — Apache-2.0
Mistral AI, platform-docs-public (Apache-2.0). Summarized.
Other developers
We don't summarize these developers' free-tier or trial terms here. Check their official pages directly.
- Free tier or trial terms: see Alibaba's official pricing page.
- Free tier or trial terms: see DeepSeek's official pricing page.
- Free tier or trial terms: see OpenAI's official pricing page.
- Free tier or trial terms: see Z AI's official pricing page.
- Free tier or trial terms: see xAI's official pricing page.
Methodology: entries are entered by hand from each developer's own documentation and not verified by a real API call; each entry shows the date it was last checked. Free-tier terms change without notice — always confirm current limits on the developer's own page before relying on a free tier in production. If something below looks out of date, the linked official page is the source of truth.